Dustin Martin

Footy returns to the ‘G

Monday, December 21, 2020


After a long winter without football in Victoria, the MCG is looking forward to hosting 46 games throughout the 2021 AFL Premiership Season, including the first three games of the season.

The 2021 fixture includes dates and timings of matches up to Round 10, while also outlining the venues and teams for the remaining rounds of the season.

Dates and details regarding the remaining rounds will be released as the season progresses, allowing for the AFL to maintain flexibility throughout 2021 given the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

The season kicked off with the traditional blockbuster opener under lights between Richmond and Carlton on Thursday March 18, giving the back-to-back reigning premiers an opportunity to unfurl both their 2019 and 2020 premiership flags.

The match also marked the return of football action to the MCG for the first time since July 2020, when Richmond defeated Melbourne in the Round 5 clash without a crowd in attendance.

Other headline fixtures in the first six rounds includes the Easter Monday match-up between Geelong Cats and Hawthorn, and the traditional ANZAC Day Eve and ANZAC Day matches between Melbourne and Richmond and Collingwood and Essendon.

View the MCG fixture below or download the PDF.

2021 AFL Premiership Season fixture at the MCG:

Round 1
Thursday March 18, 7.25pm AEDT – Richmond v Carlton
Friday March 19, 7.50pm AEDT – Collingwood v Western Bulldogs
Saturday March 20, 1.45pm AEDT – Melbourne v Fremantle

Round 2
Thursday March 25, 7.20pm AEDT - Carlton v Collingwood
Sunday March 28, 1.10pm AEDT - Hawthorn v Richmond

Round 3
Saturday April 3, 1.45pm AEDT – Richmond v Sydney Swans
Monday April 5, 3.20pm AEST – Geelong Cats v Hawthorn

Round 4
Saturday April 10, 7.25pm AEST– Collingwood v GWS GIANTS
Sunday April 11, 3.20pm AEST – Melbourne v Geelong Cats

Round 5
Saturday April 17, 7.25pm AEST – Carlton v Port Adelaide
Sunday April 18, 3.20pm AEST – Hawthorn v Melbourne

Round 6
Saturday April 24, 7.25pm AEST – Melbourne v Richmond
Sunday April 25, 3.20pm AEST – Collingwood v Essendon

Round 7
Friday April 30, 7.50pm AEST – Richmond v Western Bulldogs
Saturday May 1. 1.45pm AEST – Collingwood v Gold Coast SUNS
Sunday May 2, 3.20pm AEST – Essendon v Carlton 

Round 8
Friday May 7, 7.50pm AEST – Richmond v Geelong Cats
Saturday May 8, 7.25pm AEST – Melbourne v Sydney Swans
Sunday May 9, 1.10pm AEST – Hawthorn v West Coast Eagles

Round 9
Sunday May 16, 3.20pm AEST – Melbourne v Carlton

Round 10
Saturday May 22, 1.45pm AEST – Carlton v Hawthorn
Sunday May 23, 3.20pm AEST – Collingwood v Port Adelaide

Round 11
Collingwood v Geelong Cats
Richmond v Adelaide Crows

Round 12
Essendon v Richmond
Carlton v West Coast Eagles

Round 13
Melbourne v Collingwood

Round 14
Hawthorn v Essendon

Round 15
Richmond v St Kilda
Essendon v Melbourne

Round 16
Collingwood v St Kilda
Melbourne v GWS GIANTS

Round 17
Richmond v Collingwood
Carlton v Geelong Cats

Round 18
Melbourne v Hawthorn
Collingwood v Carlton
Richmond v Brisbane Lions

Round 19

Hawthorn v Brisbane Lions
Geelong Cats v Richmond

Round 20
Melbourne v Western Bulldogs
Collingwood v West Coast Eagles

Round 21
Hawthorn v Collingwood
Richmond v North Melbourne

Round 22
Melbourne v Adelaide Crows

Round 23
Essendon v Collingwood
Richmond v Hawthorn

Details regarding ticketing and access will be communicated in due course.