

MCC LIBRARY FACT SHEET NOVEMBER 13, 2024

2024/25 ONE-DAY CUP VICTORIA V WESTERN AUSTRALIA

The Australian One-Day Domestic (ODD) Tournament: A Brief History

Domestic limited overs cricket commenced in Australia in the 1969/70 season. The six Australian states and New Zealand (which entered at the semi-final stage) participated in a 40 eight-ball overs per innings knock-out tournament. New Zealand withdrew at the end of the 1974/75 season. In 1978/79 Australian cricket embraced the six-ball over format in all forms of the game and 50 six-ball overs per innings was introduced to the ODD tournament.

From time-to-time additional teams have competed in the tournament. A team representing the Australian Capital Territory competed in the seasons from 1997/98 to 1999/00 inclusive while a Cricket Australia team competed between 2015/16 and 2017/18.

The most successful state is Western Australia with 17 wins followed by New South Wales (12), Queensland (10), Victoria (6), Tasmania (4), and South Australia (3). The remaining three wins were by New Zealand in 1969/70, 1972/73 and 1974/75. In its three seasons in the tournament the ACT won only three matches. A Cricket Australia team competed during seasons 2015/16 to 2017/18, winning only two matches during that period.

Victoria's six wins came in 1971/72, 1979/80, 1994/95, 1998/99, 2010/11 and 2018/19. Victoria has also been runner-up on ten occasions, namely: 1969/70, 1976/77, 1985/86, 1988/89, 1992/93, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2009/10 and 2012/13. Western Australia's 17 wins were: 1970/71, 1973/74, 1976/77, 1977/78, 1982/83, 1985/86, 1989/90, 1990/91, 1996/97, 1999/00, 2003/04, 2014/15, 2017/18, 2019/20, 2021/22, 2022/23, 2023/24. Western Australia's 11 runners-up were 1974/75, 1975/76, 1978/79, 1980/81, 1983/84, 1991/92, 1993/94, 1995/96, 2000/01, 2002/03 and 2020/21.

The Final Placings at the end of the 2023/24 Home and Away Season

	Р	\mathbf{W}	\mathbf{L}	AT	BP	Adj	Pts	NetRR
New South Wales	7	5	2	-	2	-	22	0.33
Western Australia	7	5	2	-	1	-	21	0.543
Victoria	7	5	2	-	1	-	21	0.232
Tasmania	7	3	4	-	1	-	13	-0.201
Queensland	7	1	5	1	1	-	7	-0.735
South Australia	7	1	5	1	Ο	-1	5	-0.327

Points Awarded:

Win (W): 4, Loss (L): 0, Abandoned without a ball bowled (but toss made) (AT): 2 (each team), BP: Bonus Points. The adjustment (Adj) was applied to South Australia following a slow over rate during a match against Western Australia

Summary Scores from the ODD Final for the 2023/24 Season

At Cricket Central (a new ground in Sydney Olympic Park), February 25, 2024: Western Australia won the toss and decided to field.

NEW SOUTH WALES 169 (42 overs) (OHL Davies 51, MC Henriques 32; JS Paris 4/21, AC Agar 2/35, AJ Tye 2/39) **lost to WESTERN AUSTRALIA 5/170** (33.2 overs) (HWR Cartwright 73*, JR Philippe 42) **by five wickets**. *Player of the Match*: Hilton Cartwright.

Summary Scores from most recent ODD Match between Victoria & Western Australia

At WACA Ground, Perth, October 9, 2023: Western Australia won the toss and decided to field. VICTORIA 107 (21.1 overs) (JP Behrendorff 3/14, AJ Tye 3/14, JA Richardson 2/36, LRT Morris 2/40) lost to WESTERN AUSTRALIA 4/109 (DJM Short 39, SM Whiteman 38*; WJ Sutherland 2/14) by six wickets. *Player of the Match:* Jason Behrendorff.

Today's Match

Today's ODD match is the sixty-fifth to be played between the two states. Victoria has won 18 and lost 44 with two yielding a No Result.

Victoria Squad: Peter Handscomb, Peter Siddle, Marcus Harris, John Merlo, Todd Murphy, Fergus O'Neill, Cam McClure, Harry Dixon, Josh Brown, Tom Rogers, Doug Warren, Mitch Perry, Will Sutherland, Sam Harper, Sam Elliot, Liam Blackford.

Western Australia Squad: Cameron Green, Cameron Bancroft, Joel Paris, Aaron Hardie, Corey Rocchiccioli, Mitchell Marsh, Cooper Connolly, Sam Whiteman, Cameron Gannon, Lance Morris, Ashton Turner, Hilton Cartwright, D'Arcy Short, Teague Riley, Josh Inglis, Jhye Richardson, Brody Couch, Charlie Stobo, Keaton Critchell, Sam Fanning, Jayden Goodwin, Liam Hackett, Baxter Holt, Bryce Jackson, Matthew Kelly, Hamish McKenzie, Corey Wasley, Sam Green, Josh Vernon.

Domestic One-Day Cricket Statistics – Victoria and Western Australia

Match Results for Victoria at Various Venues									
Venue	Matches	Won	Lost	No Result					
MCG	19	9	9	1					
WACA Ground	32	4	27	1					
St Kilda Cricket Ground	8	2	6	-					
Deakin Reserve, Shepparton	1	1	-	-					
Hands Memorial Oval Bunbury	1	-	1	-					
North Sydney Oval	1	1	-	_					
Blacktown Olympic Park Oval	2	1	1	-					
	64	18	44	2					

Victorian and Western Australian Players in all Australian ODD Matches Highest Batting Scores

Player	Score	BF	4 8	6s	For	V	Season	Venue
DJM Short	257	148	15	23	WA	Qld	2018/19	Hurstville Oval, Sydney
TF Rogers	196	142	15	15	Vic	NSW	2023/24	North Sydney Oval
AJ Finch	188*	151	11	14	Vic	Qld	2019/20	St Kilda CG, Melbourne
SE Marsh	186	148	23	6	WA	C Aus XI	2015/16	Nth. Syd. Oval, Sydney
CJ Bancroft	176	155	14	8	WA	SA	2015/16	Hurstville Oval, Sydney
MW Goodwin	167	138	21	Ο	WA	NSW	2000/01	WACA, Perth
CL White	165	154	16	6	Vic	Tas	2017/18	WACA, Perth
SEMarsh	155*	147	12	6	WA	Qld	2012/13	Woolloongabba, Brisbane

Highest Partnerships by Wicket

Players	Score	Wkt	For	V	Season	Venue		
RJ Quiney, AJ Finch	226	1	Vic	Qld	2012/13	Woolloongabba, Brisbane		
JP Inglis, CT Bancroft	227	2	WA	SA	2022/23	WACA, Perth		
MW Goodwin, MEK Hussey	257	3	WA	NSW	2000/01	WACA, Perth		
PSP Handscomb, JA Merlo	205	4	Vic	SA	2020/21	Junction Oval, Melbourne		
DJ Hussey, CL White	205	4	Vic	Qld	2005/06	Woolloongabba, Brisbane		
CL White, RL Quiney	171	5	Vic	SA	2010/11	Adelaide Oval		
MEK Hussey, GB Hogg	173*	6	WA	Vic	1999/00	MCG		
RW Marsh, B Yardley	111	7	WA	NSW	1973/74	SCG		

Best Bowling

Player	W	R	For	V	Season	Venue
JM Holland	6	29	Vic	SA	2011/12	Adelaide Oval
АЈ Туе	6	46	WA	Qld	2018/19	Hurstville Oval, Sydney
SM Harwood	6	46	Vic	WA	2010/11	WACA, Perth
JL Pattinson	6	48	Vic	NSW	2009/10	SCG
DL Boyd	5	15	WA	Vic	1982/83	WACA, Perth

Fact Sheet written by Ross Perry, Edited by David Studham and Trevor Ruddell Sources: Wisden; various issues, Australian Cricket Digest, Ed. Lawrie Colliver, various issues <u>www.cricket.victoria.com.au</u>, <u>www.cricket.wa.com.au</u>, <u>www.cricketarchive.co.uk</u>